Andreas’s Japan journeys

Sunday, April 8, 2007

The beginning of the end

Filed under: My blog — Andreas @ 6:57 pm

Yes. It is just like that. Like they say in all SciFi-movies, because it sounds cool. That’s why I use it too. But more because it is actually true. Today is the last day of the spring break, and tomorrow Monday I am going back to school. The last semester. The last three months. The beginning of the end.

To celebrate our ending holiday, Canadian Friend, Kostas, Enrique and I went to a cheap restaurant to eat steak and pizza. After that I even bought doughnuts at Mister Donut. After that it hit me. Despite the cheap prices in Japanese restaurants, I still spend about 1000 yen or more sometimes when going out. And I have no problem with it. In one month, we probably go out four or five times, and now during the break we even went out more. I must have spent at least 10,000 yen on food alone during these two weeks, which is appaling. Especially after considering this; every time I go to a store to look at DVD movies that I want, or perhaps games, I say to myself, Wow, that is expensive. 4000 yen for a game, or 900 for a movie. And I end up not buying them. But then I go out the next day blowing 1100 on a meal. What gives?

To remedy this situation, I have made a promise to myself. Instead of buying lunch for 500 yen four out of five days a week while in school, I’m going to economise and go home every lunch break and make something! Like a toast, or if I have time, pasta. Or yoghurt, and then when I get home from school I have another minor meal. That would most likely keep the cost down, so I can afford other things that I want to buy before leaving Japan. I have to begin thinking of that now, it’s the beginning of the end.

– – –

Today’s word is junbiprepare

1 Comment »

  1. So, how’s that going? Today’s meal was 1260, and the ice cream meal will be about 4000…

    Comment by Canadian Friend — Friday, April 13, 2007 @ 9:45 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

