Andreas’s Japan journeys

Saturday, November 4, 2006

Video Japan III

Filed under: My blog — Andreas @ 3:24 pm

Ok, so yesterday did not turn out as well as I had hoped for. Not that many girls out until we accedentally hit the red light district. But by then the clock was half past ten and we were absolutely pooped. The night had begun at the local shopping mall, but a coffee and an hour later we still didn’t find anything worth, and so the adventure continued as we ran along small, poorly lit streets without anyone except your occasional drunk business man heading home. We were looking for a bar where supposedly there are Japanese who want to meet with foreigners, and vice versa. To learn Japanese, of other cultures, and perhaps a bit more too… When we couldn’t find the bar, we instead decided to try one place, the first we stumbled upon, just to get something down our bellies, and I’m not talking about food. However, we just happened to enter a no-foreigners-allowed bar, so we were kicked out. Japan excells in tech, economy, education, but they still haven’t let go of a 400-year-old prejudice towards aliens. One thing that I find charming about Japan is their dedication to keep traditions, but this is sure one they could discard, especially in today’s modern society where more and more foreigners are moving to Japan, and are integrated into their companies and very lives. Needless to say, we had to go home empty handed.

Once we did get back home at half past eleven I checked the online map and saw that had we only continued down the red light district just a bit more, we would have found the bar! Well, we’re not going anywhere special next weekend, so who knows.

In any case, to make up for the lost action last night, I decided to buy some manga and get some action today instead! So I first went to the bicycle shop to register my bike, since it would otherwise be a 45 min walk to the book store. So instead of doing it on Monday, I just took a detour and registered my bike. Then I was off to Book-off. Once there, I bought manga for 5000 En (about 350 SEK)… I feel broke. But at least it’s good manga since I’ve read it before and know it’s stuff that I want, instead of just random books that might be really bad. Now the only problem is how to figure out the cheapest way to get all the books home. Cheapest would probably be via sea mail, according to the school homepage. I’m going to investigate it more later on.

manga31.JPG

I’ve also found this band on YouTube, Metal Safari. I had never heard of them before, but I think I’m going to buy their CD if I can find it in any of the local stores. What they play, you ask? Nothing else than Japanese death metal, my friend!

– – –

Today’s word is shippaifailure

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

