Andreas’s Japan journeys

Thursday, November 2, 2006

Watch out in the slopes

Filed under: My blog — Andreas @ 6:21 pm

Ah, there’s nothing like finishing the last day of the week in school! It sure brings me back to secondary school, if only the other guys in the class were a bit younger… It actually seems as if many wants to be younger than they actually are. We’ve got this 33-year-old Greek who acts like 13. Though we figure that’s more because he doesn’t like the way the school conducts its teaching, and he expresses his discontent in a very strange way. The only girl in the class has actually told the teacher that she no longer wants to sit next to him. Today at class I could see the desperate expression in her face when she once more had to work with the Greek guy. We were sitting 4 people to her left, thus 2 pairs were already made and she had to form the third pair with the Greek to her right. She actually recounted the groups, hoping to be paired with me instead of the Greek (I was on her left, of course she’d want to have different groups *coughs*vanity*coughs*). At least she’ll be pleased that on Monday we are changing seating places, and hopefully she won’t be sitting next to the Greek guy again. I sure hope I don’t either. My friends said they’ve never seen me in such a bad mood as I displayed in Monday (the girl was abscent that day and the teacher made me pair with the Greek guy instead of my Canadian friend).

But back to the age thing. Other than the Spanish guy we’ve got the English guy who says he’s 26, but when writing a biography of himself in Japanese he’s suddenly 36. Ayashii!

Then we’ve got the 34-year-old American who did the right thing in declining when offered to go out on a round downtown. He said he had trouble seeing himself with a 17-year-old. I did too honestly… At least I have reasonable goals. 18 or so! *thumbs up*

So all in all, our class is almost like seconday school. We’ve got the guy liming on the teacher, the guy playing hooky, the studying nerds, the not so good guys, and the lone girl fighting for survival. It’s as if everyone who has come to the school wants to relive their youngers days or something. Except us young ones. We’re content in how it is right now. Though it would be cool to be like… 17 again. Easier to – as the declan of the school so delicately put it (another thing by the school to get us to date girls?!) – “investigate the social and cultural planes of Japanese life”. As long as we didn’t allow it to interfere with our studies, he was rooting for our success. Now where did I put that time machine again…?

Today I also bought a bicycle. One hour ago actually (when I’m writing this of course, ahou). It’s a bit small, I’ve seen how Japanese ride their bikes, so I figued I’d get one too. No it has nothing to do with their size… (sigh), it’s because of the horrendus traffic in Japan. You must be able to stop really quickly, so if you cannot reach down to touch the ground steadily you’re fucked. So everyone is riding their bike really low. The salesman raised my sadle quite a bit so I thought that perhaps I would be saved from the ridiculous pose, but no. Once I got on the bike I was still riding as low as everyone else… And the pedals are really short too so you cannot get any speed if you’re not riding downhill, probably so you can’t fly past everything and ride right into the side of a car; another traffic-safety measure.

All I got to do now is to get a sticker that I turned down at the bicycle store because I didn’t understand what it was. That sticker makes me bulletproff against the Police’s harrassment of foreigners. If you don’t have the sticker, the Police have the right to take you in to the station, because that sticker registers the bicycle to Okazaki city. Without it, there is a high chance that the bicycle is stolen. But no one but foreigners are stopped… I’m getting one first thing on Monday after school.

bicycle.JPG
Zooom! My bicycle can match the speed of a turtle, beat that!

The bicycle is fairly good, with a dynamo lamp in front (the Japanese don’t use lamps at the back) and with a sturdy lady-like basket to put my school bag. In Japan everyone uses it, so you don’t need to have the bag on your shoulders when riding. Even guys, yes… Once I get back to Sweden everyone’s gonna laugh at me and my Japanese style of doing things.

– – –

Today’s word is koutsuuno kichigaitraffic maniac

1 Comment »

  1. Hmm sounds like your class is somewhat retarded, certainly not the optimal study environment at least ^^

    For every blogentry you post, I get more and more inspired to go to Japan, good work my friend ;)

    Comment by Tzorcelan — Friday, November 3, 2006 @ 12:01 am


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

