Andreas’s Japan journeys

Saturday, October 7, 2006

Friday is Flyday

Filed under: My blog — Andreas @ 9:50 am

After watching some programs in the morning, I hereby officially declare Japanese children’s programmes to be crazy. Either you have octopussy-mice that run after a ball, a dancing super hero with a theme song who cries 50 Yes!! during the first two minutes, or a white and a grey… blob that compete in ping pong and balloon throwing. And let us not forget the dancing kids with heads bigger than their bodies. I’m just asking; where is the anime?!


Is it just me, or is there a certain likeness between these guys?

Today I was asked to introduce myself to the school. I was the second one in line and didn’t really know what to face. I just grabbed the microphone, turned around… and suddenly had about 600 eyes of the other students glued on me. Why did it feel as if everyone was staring exactly at me? I thought everyone was tired enough after a quarter of teacher introductions. Guess it was to prepare us for the upcoming classes. We have a new rule you see. No other language than Japanese on campus. So if you know “hello” and is asked what you did yesterday or what you had for dinner, you answer “hello” because that is all you know. It is a good rule for learning the language, but it is a bit hard for some in the lunch line…

“What kind of bread would you like?” “Hello”.

– – –

Today’s word is hisuterikkunahysterical

Leave a Comment »

  1. “After watching some programs in the morning, I hereby officially declare Japanese children’s programmes to be crazy.”
    I thought that was public knowledge, everybody knows that Japanese television is (pardon my french) fucked up.

    Comment by Josef — Wednesday, October 11, 2006 @ 6:24 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

